ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

AARON M. BAGG STUDENT MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

Student Membership Awards in the Wilson Ornithological Society have been made available through funds generously donated in memory of the late Aaron M. Bagg, former president of the Society. The Student Membership Committee has designated the award recipients for 1979 as follows: James C. Bednarz, Iowa State University; James L. Blank, Indiana University; Daniel C. Butler, Colorado State University; Carl D. Cooley, Mississippi State University; Jeffrey A. Cox, University of Florida; Louis C. Farley, Idaho State University; Martha B. Hays, Mississippi State University; Barbara J. Hill, Iowa State University; Ellen J. Johnson, Iowa State University; Michael D. Koob, University of North Dakota; Joan M. Lindeburgh, University of Arkansas; Kenneth D. Meyer, University of North Carolina; Thomas A. Nigus, Iowa State University; Richard D. Rowlands, Indiana University; Seri G. Rudolph, University of California; Barbara Sherman Simpson, University of North Carolina; Maile A. Stemmermann, University of Hawaii; and Mark C. Witmer, Texas A&M University.—James R. Karr, Chairman, Student Membership Committee.

NOTICE TO MEMBERS

Effective immediately, Robert D. Burns has become the new Treasurer for The Wilson Ornithological Society, replacing Ernest E. Hoover. Appropriate correspondence should be directed to Dr. Burns (see inside front cover for address). The Wilson Ornithological Society thanks Ernest E. Hoover for his years of fine work for the Society and welcomes Dr. Burns in this capacity.

Josselyn Van Tyne and Alexander Wetmore Memorial Awards

The A.O.U. solicits applications for research grants from these funds. The Van Tyne awards will consider any aspect of avian biology; the Wetmore awards are limited to taxonomy/systematics. Grants are usually in amounts of a few hundred dollars. Preference is given to students and other persons without other sources of funds. Applicants should send 4 copies of the following: (1) a 3–5 page description of research goals and procedures; (2) an itemized budget, with a justification of major items and the total amount requested; and (3) a brief resume of academic/ornithological experience. In addition, all applicants should request 2 or 3 letters of recommendation from recognized ornithologists, to be sent directly by the writers. All application materials, including letters, must be received before 21 June 1979. Send all materials to Dr. A. S. Gaunt, A.O.U. Committee on Research Awards, Department of Zoology, The Ohio State University, 1735 Neil Ave., Columbus, Ohio 43210.